Our Team  

Pathways has a wonderful staff who care deeply about the success of our students.

Pathways Academy is a WASC Accredited tuition-free public charter school that puts children first. Our team of passionate, dedicated educators work as equal partners with parents to provide a personalized education for children that is relevant to their lives, as well as their future careers. Our organization is committed to providing individualized learning plans, fostering a love of learning, collaborating with parents, working towards college and career oriented goals, and promoting community integration.

We offer high quality, diverse educational options to meet the needs of students in San Diego, Riverside, Orange, and Imperial Counties utilizing Blended Learning, Homeschool, and personalized learning options.

For more information about our organization or specific educational options, contact our Program Leads or applicable Resource Staff below!

Our Program Leads

Carol McIntosh

TK-12 HOMESCHOOL PROGRAM LEAD 
carol@pathwaysacademy.education

Hi, my name is Carol Thompson and I have been teaching for 30+ years and love it. I am currently the Program Lead at Pathways Academy Homeschool and have been working with homeschoolers since 2008. I believe that every child learns differently and uniquely and as a teacher, my job is to help parents find the curriculum and the learning styles of their children. Parents know their children best and given the right tools can help their children blossom. I love to swim, read, and enjoy my family. I have been blessed with a wonderful husband whom I have grown to love and who has invested in my children who are all in their early twenties. I am continually growing, learning, and experiencing the wonders of this journey called life. I am looking forward to working with each of you on this adventure.


Karen Makkai

PROGRAM LEAD, Pathways BLENDED LEARNING & ADULT EDUCATION
kmakkai@pathwaysacademy.education

Every individual deserves a choice and access to a rich and meaningful education. This belief is what guides me everyday to provide a top notch charter school program to the students in my program. Once I started high school in Los Angeles, California I knew my calling was to become a teacher. Not just ‘any’ teacher but a compassionate one who reaches those who may have struggled in a traditional school setting. Instilling confidence in every one of my students is the quickest way to see success. When I am not teaching I am watching my youngest son play baseball, watching my daughter play volleyball, listening to my older son's music, supporting my husband’s busy career, going to museums, collecting art, reading and cooking. I am fortunate to have a loving family and an enriching career.


Bethany Chaffin

PROGRAM LEAD, WILLOW TREE 
bchaffin@willowtreelearning.org

Bethany received her Bachelors in Developmental Psychology from UC Santa Cruz and her Multiple Subject teaching credential, Masters in Educational Administration and Administrative Credential from California State University, San Marcos. While obtaining her degrees, Bethany had the opportunity to travel to nine different countries and study their educational systems. During this time, she developed her love of Waldorf education. Bethany has taught grades Kinder - 5th grade and was one of the 2014 San Diego County Teachers of the Year. She has always believed in the importance of public education and making sure families have options. Bethany resides in Fallbrook with her husband and two children.

Our Homeschool Staff

 

Evan Jorgensen

Academic Advisor, Marketing Coordinator

evan@pathwaysacademy.education

Eric Shirley

Academic Advisor

eric@pathwaysacademy.education

Sarah Damianos

Academic Advisor

sarah@pathwaysacademy.education

Kath Gray

Academic Advisor

kath@pathwaysacademy.education

Jenny Soulias

Academic Advisor

jenny@pathwaysacademy.education

Ms. Maggie

Academic Advisor 

maggie@pathwaysacademy.education

Hadassah Thompson

Academic Advisor

hadassah@pathwaysacademy.education

Alana Wellins

Academic Advisor

awellins@pathwaysacademy.education

Our Blended Learning Staff

 

Susan Clark

Lead Teacher

sclark@pathwaysacademy.education

Amberlee Potrero

Teacher

amberlee@pathwaysacademy.education

Colleen Ochs

Teacher

cochs@pathwaysacademy.education

Judalon Manes

Teacher

jmanes@pathwaysacademy.education

Howard Ryne Clark

Teacher

hclark@pathwaysacademy.education

Kelli Dolan 

Instructional Aide

kdolan@pathwaysacademy.education


Willow Tree Staff